Scam of the Week – WhatsApp

January 19, 2018 4:22 pm Paul Mullin

WhatsApp have appeared in our Scam of the Week series before and scammers continue to use the popular messaging app to try and dupe unsuspecting users.

This scam first originated last year but has become even more prominent in the past few weeks. The scam usually takes the form of an SMS message which contains instructions to receive a WhatsApp lifetime subscription for a small fee. However, this is the trick that scammers are using to trick people into providing their payment details.

Long time WhatsApp users will recall that it used to cost 99p a year to use the service, and the hackers are playing on this for their scam. However, this fee was totally scrapped in 2016 once Facebook took over the running of WhatsApp.

The scam warns that ‘your subscription will be ending soon’ with the hook trying to get your payment details. The message you should look out for will read ‘Your subscription has expired. To Verify your account and purchase a lifetime subscription for just 0.99 GBP simply tap on this link’.

You should delete this message immediately. If it’s too late and you’ve already clicked the link, its advised that you run antivirus software on your device in case it has been infected with malware.